Got curious and I googled the songs on the year I was born (copying Taylor Swift’s ode to her birth year by making it the title of her new album – 1989). I was surprised to see really good songs in 1972 which can be described in general as nostalgic, melancholic, intoxicated, drug induced or hormonal overdrive. Listening to the songs is like taking you back in time and my impression is that 1972 was more of an extension of the sixties and not a part of the 70s disco revolution.

Lots of superlatives for the 1972 song selection: Most Lyrical Song – “American Pie” by Don Mcclean; Most Erotic  Love Song – “Nights in White Satin” by Moody Blues; And Most Suicidal Love Song – “Without You” by Nilsson and “Everything I Own” by Bread

Surprisingly, the No. 1 song on the day I was born could be my life theme as well – “Alone Again” by Gilbert O’Sullivan.

The grammy song and record of the year went to “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” by Roberta Flack which although deserving might have won due to politics – being a song by a black woman competing against 4 white men.

Thank heavens for YouTube and watching some of the videos just gave me goosebumps.

