This has been long overdue and should have posted this mid-Jan if not for the year-end closing.

Also a disclaimer that I haven’t watched Boyhood, an Oscar front runner. And the criteria for being in the list is my enjoyment and appreciation of watching the movie.

and the list includes…

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson

Wild – Jean Marc Vallee

X-men Days of Future Past – Bryan Singer

Captain America the winter soldier – Russo

The Imitation Game – Morten Tyldum

Then there is the unique case of Birdman that I felt awful while watching but is actually rich in coded messaging that I just realized a week ago and I would need to watch it again. Then the director – Alejandro Gonzalez Inarittu was also the director of “The Revenant”. My friend Roland tried out and was called on two separate occasions to audition and turned it down twice. I had the feeling he would be a front-runner for one of the juicy roles or a shoo-in as an extra. Probably one of the best example of perfect opportunities getting thrown out I’ve ever seen. This has left me dumbfounded and upset for not seeing Leonardo DiCaprio and Inarittu and for someone not meeting his best potential.

