“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain”. – Vivian Green, as seen on a poster in a diner at Chemult, OR

“Behind every great man is a woman rolling her eyes”. – Jim Carrey, as seen on a WickedCampers van.

In the next two days, the temperature will significantly drop which will mark an end of summer in Calgary (although technically, Summer won’t end till the Autumnal equinox on Sept. 22). After a crazy great hectic Spring, I conclude that the last summer was well spent and I even didn’t have time to write during this period. So, I have learned to kayak and am quite confident with it now after becoming a member of the Calgary Canoe Club. I was at Pemberton Music Festival and there is some truth in its claim of being the “best weekend of your life”. I was able to hike 2 of the 50 Best Hikes in the World –  The Berg Lake Trail (full) and The Sunshine Coast Trail (section).

Song of the Summer – I thought that “Cake By The Ocean” of DNCE would be my song of the summer even though it came out in winter of 2016. But it peaked really early and was out of the airwaves by summer, so the song that brings the memories of 2016 summer would be “Don’t Let Me Down” by the Chainsmokers.

What is next for Fall? I’m currently contemplating the iconic Yosemite hike or the partial PCT hike that has been moved several times. Then perhaps Symbiosis Gathering music festival in Oakdale, California, close to Yosemite.

The trip to Powell River has been enlightening for me. I learned that I am currently thriving in my solo state because in the Calgary urban setting, there are a lot of things to do and several distractions. I was bored at Powell River on Day 1 (but I later enjoyed the forced-to-relax situation). The crowd in the urban setting also sort of hides you while in the less urban setting, you really stand out. So, I will have to scrap my plan of buying land and building a cabin and small farm. Instead, I will go back to my old plan of using a business (hostel + diner) as my entry to my designated places of retirement. Its going to be fun designing my concept of a compact diner+hostel.

 

